FAQs » Easy Uninstall Pro (4) » Easy Uninstall Pro - Features

Atom Feed Frequently Asked Questions

Suggest a FAQ

Parent Categories

General
Easy Uninstall Pro (4)

Category: Easy Uninstall Pro - Features

Page 1 of 1 - Items per page:
Q

What is a system restore point?

A

We recommend always creating a system restore point before making any major changes to your computer.


Having a system restore point helps you restore your computer's system files to an earlier point in time.


It's a way to undo system changes to your computer without affecting your personal files, such as e mail, documents, or photos. Sometimes, the removal of a program can cause an unexpected change to your computer or cause Windows to stop functioning correctly. Usually, rolling your computer back to a system restore point will fix the problem.

Creating a System Restore Point
You will automatically be asked everytime you choose to remove a program through Easy Uninstall Pro if you would like to backup your system's settings (create a system restore point).

  1. Click on the Uninstall tab.
  2. Highlight a program you would like to remove from your computer.
  3. Click the "Uninstall" button at the bottom of the program.
  4. A dialog box will pop-up. Insert a check-mark in the box "Backup your system's settings (create system restore point). This will direct Easy Uninstall Pro to create a new system restore point.

A pop up box will appear letting you know when the system restore point has been successfully created.

Q

What is the Clean Up tab?

A

The Clean Up Tab lets you: protect your privacy and free up valuable disk space by using Easy Uninstall Pro's "clean up" feature. Select some or all of the following areas and click "Scan for Junk".

Files in temporary folders - Some applications create temporary files needed for their operation. Over time these folders accumulate a lot of temporary files storing the history of your PC operation.

Internet Explorer cache - When you surf the Internet your browser stores parts of the web pages you visit on your hard drive in order to accelerate l oading time when the site is visited again. Gradually these files accumulate and waste disk space. They also disclose information about the type of web sites you visit.

Firefox cache - This is the same as the Internet Explorer cache but for Firefox.

Cookies - When you surf the Web an Internet site sends a cookie file which is stored on your computer. Such files contain information about your identity and preferences. Removing the information stored in cookie files from your system, ensures your privacy on the Internet.

Webpages visited history - When you surf the Web information from every website you visit is stored on your computer. Web browsers cannot provide full privacy as they do not clean up all hidden files containing data about your actions. Use Easy Uninstall Pro to find and delete these hidden items.

Opened documents history - Many popular applications keep records of documents opened as a list of recently accessed files. If you want to ensure the privacy of your activities you should purge this list on a regular basis.

Temporary registry values - The Windows registry is the main storage area for operation system settings and all installed applications. Applications very often refer to the registry and use it to store the history of documents opened, URLs accessed (if searching in the Web) or file names (if searching the PC itself). This information should be purged to ensure the privacy of your work.

Q

What is the Install Guard?

A

Keep Install Guard active in your system tray and you will be informed every time new software is added to your computer. Install Guard tracks all changes to your system from the moment of installation so that when the program is no longer required it will be fully removed. Use the check box to activate or deactivate Install Guard.

Q

What is the Settings tab?

A

About - Under the About tab you will find information about the version of Easy Uninstall Pro which you are using. If you have not yet registered your copy of Easy Uninstall Pro you will be able to do so from this screen.

Settings - settings tab allows you to customize the following Easy Uninstall Pro features:

  • Install Guard - Keep Install Guard active in your system tray and you will be informed every time new software is added to your computer. Install Guard tracks all changes to your system from the moment of installation so that when the program is no longer required it will be fully removed. Use the check box to activate or deactivate Install Guard.
  • System Restore Point - During the uninstall process Easy Uninstall Pro automatically creates a System Restore Point. If you frequently uninstall programs you may wish to skip this step in the uninstall process. Use the checkbox to activate or deactivate System Restore Point.
  • Computer Status - Easy Uninstall Pro runs an automatic search during startup for leftover files, junk items and the number of programs in your startup menu. The results of this search are displayed in the computer status box on the opening screen of the program. If you do not find this information useful and want to skip this process just uncheck the box "Activate automatic scan at startup".
Q

What is the Startup tab?

A

Clicking the Startup tab allows Easy Uninstall Pro to identify all of the programs set on your computer's Startup list.

Startup programs are programs and software applications that are set to automatically startup when your computer turns on. Most programs display a small icon next to your system clock, showing you what is running. These programs are usually set on the Startup list as a default and they run in the background anytime your computer is on, regardless of whether or not you are actually using the program. This is set as a convenience for the user, but what most people don't know is that these programs all take up much-needed system resources, substantially slowing down your computer.

When programs are removed from your computer's Startup list, they are still installed and work as normal, but they just won't start automatically. This lets you run only the programs that are necessary, giving your computer a performance boost.

Check any boxes next to a program that you would like to remove from your system's startup. Click the "Remove from startup" button to follow the prompts for removal.

A number of software programs are automatically loaded by your computer at startup. The more programs that are automatically loaded the slower your startup time will be. This menu shows the programs currently being loaded by your computer at startup. Select a program you wish to remove and click "Remove from startup."

Advanced Options - find out more information about the program you selected by clicking on any of the options in the drop down menu.

  • Open folder (Opens the system folder where the program is installed)
  • Run software (Runs the selected software)
  • Ask Google (Performs a Google search to learn more about the selected software)
  • Check for broken records (Checks for erroneous commands and file paths)
  • Add to startup list (Allows you to add a program to the Startup list)
  • Remove from startup (Removes the selected program from the Startup list)
  • Refresh (Refreshes the Startup programs list)
Q

What is the Uninstall tab?

A

The Uninstall tab shows a detailed view about all of the programs installed on your computer. Clicking the + and - signs next to a category in the Programs list will collapse and expand the list.

The Program list shows new programs, installed toolbars and all other programs. Putting a check-mark in the box below the Program list will also show a list of all installed Windows updates.

Search for a specific program by using the Search box above the Program list. This helps you find a program that isn't showing or you don't see in the lists. Change the detailed view of the program icons by selecting "Icons," "List" or "Details" from the drop-down menu.

A scan automatically reveals all leftover files found on your computer. This is displayed at the bottom center of the Uninstall tab. Clicking on "Remove leftover items" will take you through the prompts to delete these files.

Page 1 of 1 - Items per page:
Hide ALL Answers  |   TOP   |  Back   |  Suggest a FAQ   |  Atom Feed